Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have Two Gp1200R's Waverunners. Sat all last year due to funds! and fuel costs! One totally died on me and had to be towed in, Now when i try to Start it, Something in the electrical box starts buzzing. I am think that the pistons are seized and not allowing the starter to crank motor. Should i spray some oil down the cylinder and let it set and try to crank, or just pull top end off?

The other one i did a compression check on and getting 115 on rear, 0 on Mid, and 130 on front. I am thinking that this one will need the top end cleaned up and new pistons and rings.

I am new to the Yahama waverunner, I rebuilt two Kawasiki 550&650 stand up ski, and a Tigershark last year. Is there anything i have to be careful with when i pull motor apart? I am hearing about Power valves. What are they? :dunno:

Appericiate any information or help with this topic!
Chobes!

·
Registered
61 Posts
The one that was towed in probably filled with water, with the exhaust not pushing the water out, it ran backwards over the hump and into the cylinder/crank. Take the plugs out and try to start it.If water shoots up, its got water in the case! Also, open your cdi box and make sure it has no water in it. The Yamaha is easy to do, just break top end down. You wont need to worry about power valves if you are just doing a top end repair. Post back and let me know what you find on the one that was towed!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3