Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a '04 STX 900 and I have taken it out twice, each time for about 2-3 hours. When I got back home each time I noticed about 2-3 inches of water in the bottom of the hull under the engine. Is this normal??? This is the first PWC I have ever owned so I am not really sure. The only way I can get the water out is pull the plugs and tilt the jet ski back and it will drain. Where is this water getting in? Is there anything I can do to prevent this? Like I said, I am new to this so I do not know if it is normal or what. Please help me out if you can. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
354 Posts
Check the seals from your seat and storage areas. If it is only 2 or 3 inches, it could also be from you doing sharp turns and and the nose of the jet ski going through waves or going under water. I know with my Ultra 150, if I have been doing a lot of tight turns where my nose goes into the water, it is not uncommon for it to have maybe 1 or 2 inches of water in the engine compartment at the end of the day.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply! I wasn't really riding it hard or anything but I do notice that the nose will go under when I slow down to go through a no wake zone or something. I try to keep it out but it just does it. Maybe this is where it is coming in? The guy I bought it from said it has done this since day one but who knows if he is telling the truth. I am just worried about being out for an extended period of time and getting more water than just 2-3 inches. Should I install some type of pump to get the water out?

·
Premium Member
354 Posts