Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the jetski scene, and would like to do my own maintenance... however I don't know where to start and am not familiar with ski engines? What do I need, and how do I go about doing it? Any information would be greatly appreciated... Thanks

·
Premium Member
354 Posts
I'm new to the jetski scene, and would like to do my own maintenance... however I don't know where to start and am not familiar with ski engines? What do I need, and how do I go about doing it? Any information would be greatly appreciated... Thanks
Where do you ride at, fresh water or salt water? If you ride in salt water, then make sure you flush the jet ski with fresh water for at least 15 minutes. Change the spark plugs every 20 hours or so or less if you really want too, tighten all bolts and nuts or at least check them before and after every ride, WD-40 down the engine and components after every ride, check for body damage, check your hoses for cracks or damage. Other than that, you should be good.

·
Premium Member
354 Posts
I could be wrong on this but I do not believe jet ski's have oil filters. I have to be honest that I am not all that familiar with the new 4 stroke motors but all of the 2 strokes, you either had to premix your oil and gas or you had oil injection so all you ever did was just add oil. Again, I could be wrong but I believe the 4 strokes are still the same in that they are injected so you just need to add oil.

·
Registered
5 Posts
The VX Cruiser has a 4.5 Qt oil capacity, usually 10W30, and I believe an KN303 series oil filter on the lower right hand side of the engine as you are facing the oil tank.

Basic advice, as this is a dry-sump engine, is get an oil extracter (miti-vac, pela, etc), warm up the engine, suck out as much as you can from the reservoir, and ONLY PUT THAT MUCH BACK IN.