Personal Water Craft Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1995 Yamaha RA1100T
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to start by saying I'm very new to actually owning jet skis up until now I've only ever rented. I decided that I was going to buy something very inexpensive for my kids and I for our first experience which was probably my first mistake.
I purchased my 1995 Wave raider 1100 from a guy on marketplace who said that it ran great and had great compression. I showed up with money in hand and he showed me by putting gas in the intake that it fired right up however the gas tank was empty, he had gotten rid of the 2-stroke oil pump saying they all go bad. And all I need to do was take it to the lake premix gas and go.
Took it to the lake put in the premix gas it did nothing, it would fire if you put gasoline in the intake but would not stay running. I called the guy back to see what he knew, and I got the as far as he knew everything was fine just clean the carbs routine.
So I did some homework looking at forums took apart the carbs cleaned everything up and noticed that the diaphragms were kind of brittle but still intact so I put it back together and fired it up and it ran a little bit. So I took it to the lake. And if you played with the choke and played with the throttle eventually it would go and in fact had a top speed the first time of 52.3 mph based on GPS speedometer. (Of course the multifunction display on it is inop)
Took it home and decided what I needed to do was a top end gasket kit so I did that, took it out the next day and got it to go 55 mph but it would still bog down and you still couldn't really get to do anything without playing with the choke.
Decided at that point to invest in a carb kit so I got the three carb kit and put a new diaphragms put in the float needle but did not go into the inner workings of the car because I was afraid of stripping out the Philips head screws.