Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I just bought my first jet ski a 2000 Yamaha GP 800, i am new to jet skiing and i always wanted one, i ridden multiple jet skis and now i finally got one. i just bought the jet ski in phoenix a couple days ago and i took it to the river for the second time already and everything was going good till the jet ski wouldn't start. It was fine after the fourth ride the jet ski wouldn't start. The seller told me his friend just did a tune up and he was riding a couple times after. When i checked the spark plugs they were very black and smelled like fuel. There is spark going to the spark plugs, I am going to check for compression later today. i don't really know what else to do, maybe something going on with the carb, it does take a couple turns before she fires right up. Any Help will be very appreciated

·
Registered
1,588 Posts
Gabriel, welcome to the forum.
The blk plugs Id replace with new. sounds like it fouled that set.

What are you using for a compression tester?
Depending on the compression tester you may need a top end. Compression on the 800 should be around 125/135ish. I've found that cheaper gages are very inaccurate. Harbor freight always are way low. At 90psi you'll definitely start having runability issues.
Are you pre mixing fuel or is this still oil injected?

·
Registered
1,588 Posts
I tested 2 Harbor freight compression testers. I tested them against my snap-on, both Harbor freight gages were about 15psi low. So I don't know that I would trust your readings.

The plugs could be fuel or oil fouled. From the sounds of your post there fuel fouled. Which tells me your due for carb rebuilds. At the same time I'd go over the oil injection system and replace hoses. And check pump set up. The hoses are the weak link in the system. And usually very neglected.