Personal Water Craft Forum banner

2003 Yamaha XLT 800 66e Projects

28K views 272 replies 5 participants last post by  neppy5 
#1 ·
It is a build thread, filled with pictures, my random questions, and hopefully some decent answers, tip, recommendations. I am a newbie to the PWC scene but somewhat of a wrench-turner. Purchased 2x 2003 Yamaha XLT 800's to rebuild as a project. I'll be building the thread as I go, just wanted to get it started tonight.

See less See more
#3 ·
It's a start!

Both were running at time of purchase. Unfortunately I had not done my homework before purchase. Skis both had about 130 hours. I bought them on Saturday and was on the lake Sunday, ski #1 ran great until something broke with the impeller, ski revs but doesn't move. Ski #2 ran ok until it would not start without constant manipulation of the choke. Ski#1 is on the trailer while I work on ski#2 as it was more of a major issue though I plan on rebuilding both engine. I was unaware that both oil pumps had been removed so I plan on reinstalling the pumps with rebuilt lines and going back to stock. The pumps don't fail, its the hoses and zip ties that fail. I don't want the hassle of premix.

Picked up a cherry picker from HF, a sling, and built some ******* rollers for the garage. Couple pics below.

Dave in DE, you are one of the reasons I came to this forum to post. Your knowledge and willingness to help on the Yamaha forum is undeniable. Thank you for posts, past, present, and future.

Attachments

#4 ·
Thanks for the kind words
The use of wire ties for the oil lines is ok but you must use a wire tie gun to get them tight enough to hold. The pumps are great and are veriable ratio. At Idle it's around 200/1 saving oil and fouled plugs all the way up to 30/1 at full throttle.
I have 2, GP800r's an 01/02 the 800is a very strong motor with a nice power band. I have done my research on them and my Two will carry max load at 56 mph. Stock motor, and blueprinted pump solas impeller.

#5 ·