Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I'm new to the world of owning a PWC. However i do have a good mechanical background with different DIY projects so im not afraid of a little work :tango_face_grin: . Anyways, I have a 2005 Honda Aquatrax R-12x that has an issue. Around 45-50 MPH, it starts to buck and porpoise uncontrollably. There are a few things that i am pointing fingers at, but haven't been able to come upon a solution with some google research. Culprit #1: The owner before me somehow broke the intake grate. Half of it is missing. I only have the rear part with the scoop that is bolted to the bottom of the ski. All of the bars are missing from the grate, but i ground them down to where it was smooth. Culprit #2: The underneath of the ski is in pretty rough shape. There is some exposed fiber-glass that may need some attention (Photos will be posted when I get home and can grab them). Based upon you guys's experience, what would I need to be focusing on right now?

Thanks!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I guess i will not be posting photos since it is against the forum rules. Is there another way i can show what exactly we're up against?
Thanks

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay, so i just discovered that i CAN post photos. Here they are:

In regards to the hull damage, is this bad enough to where it needs to be addressed before i run it again? Or could i run it through the season and repair it over the winter with a new gel coat?

Attachments

·
Read Only
5,059 Posts
That grate can make a difference, so I would find another one. I would get some long strand bondo glass and do something with the large one. Shouldn't take much to fill it, then prime and paint with some black rustoleum, and do a quick spray to any other small chip areas that are into the substraight. If it keeps getting wet, eventually the layers of glass will start delaminating from each other.