Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, newbie here. Got a yamaha gp1300r, 2007. Havin some issues with it. Yamaha of hicksville long island had it for 9 months and they couldnt fix it so now i have to wrench it. Will start up for 5 seconds and die. The check engine lite is on and it intermittently loses spark. Anyone know of a way to scan this for codes if possible? or anything common on these. Any help is appreciated, losing my mind with this thing. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
On skis that will show codes, you push and hold the mode or select button for 8 seconds to get the codes. On models with multiple buttons, you push and hold both buttons on the left side of the panel for 8 seconds.

At least it sounds like you have spark and the engine turns over. I'd look for a fuel problem first (fuel filter clogged, gummed up carb.). Does this model have the power valves?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info, it does have the power valves. I pushed that button and it displayed number 18 fault code. You know where I can get a service manual or list of fault codes? The fuel system was drained and flushed recently when the dealer did a restoration on it and replaced almost everything except the vin

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
On my ski #18 is "Throttle Position Sensor Malfunction". I don't know for sure if this code would be the same on your ski. You need a service manual or someone that has one to know for sure.

I think the throttle has to be closed to start the ski. I'm not sure, but a stuck throttle cable might cause the error code, holding the throttle open a little bit and keeping the sensor from letting it run.

Also didn't know if you had seen this recall from Yamaha about throttle cable problems on the 1300: http://www.yamaha-motor.com/waverunner/fmc/factory_modification_letter_WR2008-001R.pdf

Could the error code be related to this recall problem?

·