Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have any info on the SuperCharger as far as rebuilds or maintenance. I've heard that they need to be rebuilt at certain intervals. Mine is running good at 100hrs but i want to be proactive and do whats needed before its too late. Thanks.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Take it with a grain of salt, but I've heard the Yamaha superchargers don't need rebuilding. Something about material quality and type that's different from sea-doos.

I've read this on numerous forums, as well as checked the official Yamaha maintenance schedule (which doesn't mention anything about rebuilding the supercharger).

I'm not an expert, just reporting what I've found (and haven't found). If someone knows better than me, please correct me.

Edit: I have heard that a blow off valve will do wonders for saving on wear and tear on the supercharger. If you haven't installed one yet I'd highly recommend it. Easy enough to do on your own. Sounds good too as you let off the throttle.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Does anyone have any info on the SuperCharger as far as rebuilds or maintenance. I've heard that they need to be rebuilt at certain intervals. Mine is running good at 100hrs but i want to be proactive and do whats needed before its too late. Thanks.
The Manual and Yamaha state 800 hours for the Supercharger kit if driven normally, if you are the type that likes to rev the engine while it's out of the water then it could need a clutch in a very short time.
Yamaha says to not rev the engine out of the water whether it's connected to a hose or not as this will or at least can make the clutch wear a lot faster as quite a few owners have found out.
I have read of owners replacing their clutches after only 50 hours use lol.