Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, as you see this is my first post, I'm fairly new to jet skis as well. I bought my first jet ski a few months ago, it's a 1997 Kawasaki 750 ZXI. I've had it out on the water (salt) a few times already and I know how to properly clean it when finished. When I got it I had i brought it to a mechanic to check it out and see if i need anything and he did a compression test (don't remember the numbers), but he said everything was perfect. It runs good for 1997, I'm surprised. I got up to 57 MPH, if the speedometer is accurate.

Enough of the introduction. I had the jet ski in my garage charging on a trickle charger for a few days, and I wanted to start it up. Well normally when I turn the ignition to "On" the temp and oil lights come on and I can start the jet ski just fine. But now the lights won't come on and the jet ski wont start at all. You are probably thinking "its the battery you dumbass", well that's the first thing I figured, I'm going to buy a new battery today, but if this doesn't solve the problem then my question is, what else can I look for that might be wrong? Or maybe tips for simple problems that can go wrong..

Like I said it's my first jet ski so I don't know much about them mechanically. Thanks!

·
Registered
209 Posts