Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi -

Got a 92 seadoo gt was running great. Niece was riding, took a sharp turn and she said it slowly died out.

Hitting the start button produces a loud "CLUNK". Took out battery charged over night, still get the "clunk". Took out plugs - still "Clunk". Hooked up battery from speed boat, still "clunk". Can't turn shaft by hand even without plugs in the engine.

I let it sit over night, and this morning it turned over - maybe 1/2 dozen times - just like normal, but it didn't start, then it went back to the "CLUNK". Tried boat battery again - still CLUNK.

The clunk sounds like bendix is springing out and hitting the flywheel, but it just can't turn it.

ideas on what to check? I know my way around engines - car, outboat and I/O boat engines, but this is my first time digging into a PWC engine.

Thanks!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
more info

It started cranking real good just now. I put the plugs back in and with a little choke and throttle it started up, then puttered out - usual behavior for a cold start. When to push the button again and just got the CLUNK.

It's almost like it sometimes has the power to turn the engine, then sometimes it doesn't like some sort of faulty ignition part (?)

·
Registered
48 Posts
When it goes "clunck" take the plugs out and see if you can turn driveshaft, if it comes and goes like you say, I would agree with maybe a starter bendix issue.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for the responses gents. Was out of town for a week and just pulled the front cover off the engine. Could see that the starter gear was stuck- engaged on the flywheel. Took off the exhaust pipe got two bolts off the starter and then saw that it take an engine pull to get at the last starter bolt. Dang!! Looks like I have a nice winter project - the seasons almost over up here in northern Minnesota.

·
Registered
48 Posts