Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All, I am new to jet-ski's and obviously new to the forum, it looks like I will be coming here a lot more once I get deeper into this new money pit I am digging. I just bought a '95 750SS that has been sitting up for about 4 years. When I initially tried to strart it, it would turn over, but would not start. Using starting fluid in the intake it ran, and sounded fine, on the starting fluid, but it was not getting gas. I took the carb off then apart. The diaphragm appeared to be fine, minus a little varnish deposit, but I cleaned it up, and it seemed fine, It was not rotten, or cracked. I am not sure what the diaphragm's consistency is supposed to be, but I would compare it to something a bit thicker than the plastic on the front of a windowed envelope. I put it back together after looking at that and went hunting for another problem, and I found it. I had to rip out the engine, to get out the gas tank, to clean out the 1/2" thick puddle of brown crud at the bottom, and had to replace the fuel filter (the one mounted in the top of the tank with the 2 different length tubes coming from it) Something had crystallized at the top of the old one and clogged the return and vent hole). So I thought this might have solved my problem, but this past Saturday when I installed it, I am still not getting any gas. My first thought is to actually take off and clean out the carb. And if this doesn't work, replace what appears to be a fine diaphragm. Any thoughts/Ideas would be greatly appreciated. Also, on a side note, what is that thing you pull at the top right side of the motor for that opens the reed valve at the bottom of the crankcase?:):confused:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4