Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all, I'm a Newbie with a project ski and have some questions my esteemed fellow forum members.

Bought a 95 WaveRaider 700 and have about $750 in it total. Put it in the water today and it runs like a scalded rabbit!! My son and I (~425 pounds total) ran it to about 50 mph on smooth wide open water.

Only two issues so far. It has runaway twice on the hose flush. Bumped the throttle while it was warm and it went to WOT. Got really worried when I pulled the plug wires, pinched the fuel lines, and with my third hand was trying to cover the air intake - and its still screaming wide open. I saw references in previous posts where the NGK plugs or hot spots in the cylinders can cause the engine to diesel, leading to the runaway. This happened once on the original rusty dirty plugs and today on the brand new plugs.

Is it possible that there is carbon in the cylinders? Can these little motors be de-carboned? I've done it on my Jonhson outboard, would it be the same process?

The only other issue is that it is a little hard to start. Will start on the choke but chuggs enough that its hard to get up and running before it tips over. I know the new plugs are gapped at .030. I now see in the manual it calls for .024 to .028. Would overgapping cause this nuisance starting issue?

Maybe it just needs the cobwebs run out of it. Last tagged in 2004, and was started again just in the last few weeks.

Love this little ski but its definitely a 1 person or 2 little people ski. REALLY tippy for a guy my size.

·
Registered
323 Posts