Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, i want to start by saying you may have seen me in a intro forum talking about my wave venture restoration project, but in effort to try and get this question out to a bigger audience I decided to post it here.

To bring everyone up to speed, I got an old 96 Wave Venture 1100, that was sitting abandon for an unknown amount of time and I have no idea the condition it was in the last time it ran but for the most part the ski was clean and intact, at the start of my project I came to the conclusion that due to old old fuel and dirty carbs the carbs needed rebuilding as well as the fuel pump. Now I am new to Jet ski mechanics but I do have the service manual and a mechanical background plus a little help from a member on this forum during the rebuild build process.

I used mostly Windarosa parts for the rebuild though on the carbs I have a slight concern that some of the parts were not authentic but honest its gaskets and diaphragms that i replaced not solid parts so i think or hope that it'll be alright despite the concerns people have about only using authentic kits.

Today i finished the rebuild and put everything back together minus the Flame Arrestor box, sprayed some seafoam upper engine cleaner into the intakes and cylinders, and after a few tries, some thick white smoke the ski came to life for the first time so that's progress in my book. However it ran pretty rough and cut out after about 3 mins.

She started right back up ran rough and shut down after a few minutes, I repeated this process several times because I chalked it up to bad fuel still making its way out of the lines, but overall the longest I could keep it running was about 5 mins and on another note whenever i would try and run water threw it, almost immediately it would stall out.