Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I may have already fat fingered a message - sorry about that.

I'm a newbie looking for a ski after having sold my 37' aft cabin MY. Wife wasn't that hot on boating, so we sold the boat, bought a waterfront vacation property and now I'm looking for a new vessel to get me out on the water again. I'm in my upper 50s.

I'll be on the upper Chesapeake Bay in Maryland. I'm actually on the Susquehanna River right before it enters the Bay. Some of my riding will be on the open bay and I am quite familiar with how conditions can get rough. I want to be out in those conditions when it isn't unsafe. Accordingly, I think I'm interested in getting one of the larger skis. I'm researching used Yamaha SUV1200s which are long and wider than most. I'm also looking at maybe a new leftover 2006 Honda F12X turbo. It's not as big, but probably in the ballpark.

So, my question is: Does this type of selection make sense for the kind of water I'll be on? Any other suggestions? I don't want to pay the price for a brand new one not knowing yet what I really want so prefer to go used first to establish my preferences and usage.

I've read lots of good advice and ask for your help.

Thanks!

·
Registered
209 Posts
welcome to the forum bob...

i wouldnt recommend the SUV its practically a boat, .....

the honda f12 is a good ski that gets great gas mileage...

you wanna consider the costs you might have buying a used ski,,not knowing where its been or who owned it could potentially be a HUGE problem...

new come with warranties and a guaranty they will last a certain amount of time...

however if your like me and love to work on motors/boats etc.. than you should definitly go used and get to know the ski inseide and out.....