Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all. I am brand new to all things jet ski. I am about to buy two yamahas 2008 vx deluxe with trailer and covers for $2500. They both have 150 hrs on them. The owner says they run like new and has professional records of service and all. Sent me pics of digital gauge to confirm hours and on the pictures the skis look great. Don’t know, but seems too low of a price or too good to be true. Should I be concerned? Please help.

Attachments

·
Registered
45 Posts
If it were me, I'd be all over it. I got a similar deal a few years ago: matched pair of 1999 GP1200s with ~165 hours + trailer for $2000. One ran and the other didn't, and I knew that when I bought them. The non-running ski ended up needing a new set of pistons, cylinders bored and some welding on the crank case. Both skis needed the carbs rebuilt. But they've given me three years of absolutely trouble free service. I had to replace crank seals on one this spring, but that's the first time I've had to mess with them.

Except for boring the cylinders, I did all the work myself and have about $700 in the rebuild, including $135 worth of carb kits (only use OEM Mikuni kits). My suggestion is if you're "good with tools" you should go for it. But regardless of how they run on the trailer, expect to spend some time/expense bringing maintenance up to date.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hello to all. I am brand new to all things jet ski. I am about to buy two yamahas 2008 vx deluxe with trailer and covers for $2500. They both have 150 hrs on them. The owner says they run like new and has professional records of service and all. Sent me pics of digital gauge to confirm hours and on the pictures the skis look great. Don’t know, but seems too low of a price or too good to be true. Should I be concerned? Please help.