Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I bought a 1992 yamaha waverunner vxr 650 for next to nothing over the winter. Im new to the pwc scene and was wondering if there is a standard checklist of stuff i need to go over before putting this thing in the water. Ive replaced the pump and impeller and shaft (the old one was rotted out) and Im waiting on my starter rebuild kit to get here, ive also removed and cleaned out the old injector pump resivior. Just would like to get some input. Thank ahead of time.

·
Registered
61 Posts
How long did it sit? If it was awhile like you describe, i would rebuild the carbs to avoid headaches down the road. Make sure you have a good fuel filter on the line and run fresh fuel/oil! I would go premix and avoid a pump catastrophe. Use new plugs. Check compression. The standard stuff. You seem to know but dont forget these things I've mentioned. Repost how it goes!!!!!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3