Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I am absolute newbie in jetskis and I am about to buy my first. I decided it will be Waverunner as I hear it is reliable, stable, easy to maintain.
Choosing the model and even a category is challenging. Here is where I need your help.
So far I ruled out turbo-charged engine models as they require premium gas and have shorter live. Also not sure I need even more power that regular engine provide.
3 cylinder engine seems like it might be not enough to carry 3 adults and pull out of the water full size man on skis or a board.
I hope to occasionally go on long trips so I would think that cruiser seat make sense.
Other than pulling skis behind I don't care how fast it will accelerate from zero and max speed.
I can buy any of them just dont want to pay for more of what I really need.
Please help me to choose right model and point out to me if something above doesn't make sense for you

At the moment I am in between
VX CRUISER HO vs FX CRUISER HO

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hi there,
I am in the same page as you,
Just got into pwc last summer and I bought my first ski which is 2007 Kawasaki Ultra 250X. its a good ski but it’s old and I felt the need of something reliable on the water.
So I am on the market for 2020 Yamaha.
initially I decided to go with FX cruiser as I did not have good experience with my Ultra 250.
I don’t care how fast the ski goes and reaches 60-70 mph, I kinda like going slow and enjoy the ride. But on the other hand I don’t mind to have the option being able to going fast.
That being said, I am stuck between FX cruiser or FX SVHO Limited.
My thought process is I am going to spend 15k-18k on it and I am planning to keep the machine for several years and I don’t want to buy the non-supercharged now and regret the decision later, and on the other hand I am afraid that with buying the supercharged one I will be trading off the reliability.