Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at getting a couple jet skis under 10 grand (like a couple of 2002-04) jetski / sea doo or wave runners.

Questions are: I live in Charleston, SC so probably everything will have seen salt water. What should I be looking at when I go to look at PWCs? should I ask for a wet run or simply just turn them on and check for salt residue. I am a total newb at PWCs, I drove a motorcycle so that is my own experience with smaller engines.

Also how do you clean these guys out, I was reading some other posts, can you simply hook up a hose to the impeller and run it for like 15 minutes then throw some 'salt away' in there? I am trying to figure out what I need to do everytime I pull it out of the water. Any advice would be appreciated.

My last question is is there any advantage of one company over another. I really like my Yamaha motorcycle and my family has a Sea-Doo boat which was OK, but this is def going to see salt water if I buy one and I know sea-doo and yamaha and different cooling systems (yamaha draws water n to cool while sea-doo doesn't). DOes this matter in salt water, or should I stick with Seadoo?

·
Premium Member
354 Posts
Kawasaki and Yamaha are the best PWC's. No offense but Sea Doo's suck! Nothing but problems with them and the other brands that don't sell as much. With riding in salt water, if the ski has been maintained properly you should have no issues. I have a stand up with anywhere from 125 to 150 hours on it and and probably 90% of those hours are from the ocean or bay in San Diego. I always flushed my ski out afterwards and used Salt Away when doing do. I also would house down the ski afterwards, including the engine compartment, and then would spray all moving parts and the engine down with WD-40.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3