Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Im new to the forum so please excuse me if this question has been asked 1000x. Im new to the PWC world, and am looking to buy my first PWC. I have a budget of around 12,000 and am interested in all brands. I will be using it to wakeboard with friends as well as some solo riding. I would like to know what brand would be best for these needs as well as what model? Also, how reliable are these models and will I be paying alot for repairs. ALSO, how long will jetskis typically last if cared for well in the winter. I will be riding in the ocean so yes it may get banged up somewhat. I really appreciate any/all help!

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
First of all you will not be happy wakeboarding with any ski on the market. Skis just do not have enough weight to displace enough water to create a wake that would make any but the most novice wakeboardrers happy. If you are really into wakeboarding, I'd save your money for a boat.

Asking what type of ski to buy is sort of like asking what car should I buy. Your going to find Yamaha, Seadoo, Kawasaki, and maybe even a few Honda guys are left on this forum, so you will get many different opinions. There are many many choices that could fit your needs.

Riding is salt water is going to be extremely hard on any brand of ski. How long the ski will last will be directly related to how well you maintain it. Are you willing to spend the time doing the maintenance or paying to have it done, flushing and cleaning the ski after each time you ride it? The answers to those questions will be much more important in determining how long the ski will last, and how many repairs will be needed than the brand of ski you buy.