Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I am a newbie and very new to pwc's. I have a 2003 yamaha gp800r, my problem is that while running it will die and after further look into it I noticed the spark plug was getting shut. I guess the Liston is barely hitting it and closing the gap on the plug. I had the motor rebut by a local dealer about 2 years ago these belong to my in laws at the time and they never did anything about the issue after the rebuild. Now I bought them from my in laws and plan to fix the problem. I am fairly familiar with engines and things like that, is there a chance that the gasket that was put on the heads is to thin maybe the wrong one and it is causing the piston to hit the plug?

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
If the problem has been happening since the rebuild, I'd guess the guy used the wrong type (length) of spark plug, or the wrong thickness of head gasket, or even the wrong size of piston.

If the problem has just started occuring now 2 years after the rebuild, I'd guess that the engine is failing again.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My father in law said he changed the spark plugs after it started acting up. Bit I will be checking that tomorrow to make sure. It has been doing this since about 2 months after the rebuild. I will have some free time tomorrow so the first thing I'm gonna do is check to make sire the right plugs are in there, if that's not it I'm hoping it's not the piston and may e just the gasket

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
Problem with a rebuilt engine is how do you know what the "right" plug is. The NGK-R is a very common plug. I'd measure the thread length on the plugs you have and take it to an auto parts store and try to find one that has a 1 or 2 mm shorter thread length, and see if that will work.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6