Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right just aquired an old jetski which i dont know much about. i tried to get an online manual as a pdf but nothing. i have dead electrics. i have disconnected the button assembley on the handlebar and thats all ok with the continuity meter. i have now decided to take apart the electrical box because the outside is so corroded. inside is quite flakey too but not much in the way of corrosion i can see yet. i am going to take everything out and clean the box n put it back. any idea what my nexts steps should be? i have no knowledge of this machine. i did have a kawasaki 550 stand up that i restored and reconditioned so i can do some stuff.
im twiddling my thumbs wondering what to do next....

absolutely any help would be greatly appreciated

andrew :)

·
Registered
323 Posts
New solenoid and solder the wires (black/white & red/brown) together eliminating the plugs in the circuit. If still doesn't work, check the starter once you have a new solenoid by pressing the start button and checking how much the battery voltage drops. If it drops to say 7-8 volts, you will need to overhaul the starter motor. also, check the main fuse in the elec box. Otherwise, make sure no wires are corroded and it is earthed good.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hiya thanks for the reply! :)

I have checked the fuse thats fine. checked the connections thats fine. had the switch assembley in bits first day but just ran continuity on them and seemed to be fine although you talking of voltage drops i think i need to look again. anyways its still jsut dead. i shorted to solenoid to try get the starter motor to work. it spun but its not engaging so i guess i need to look at that too also now. i am guesssing that ita engine out for that but shouldnt be a problem should it. im going to look up solenoids now. looks new but guess you cant tell really.