Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am new to waverunner mechanics but got a 92 waverunner111 i picked up that was sitting for 1 to 2 years running. The engine ran great and really flew. Specs say 45mph but it felt like faster. Anyhow i came up to the crossroads of the ICW and the inlet and hit some chop. I got airborne and i guess the jet revved and something let loose. I was dead in the water. Motor still ran until it got hot enough to trip the sensor. My question is what is the most likely culprit and where do i start to look. I am assuming there is some type of tourque transfer going on at the shaft. Is there a coupler that lets go before much damage is done? Can anyone give me an idea of how many parts i should replace once i have it open? Such as impeller, impeller housing, bearings. I guess i start by dropping the plate on the bottom for inspection. I have the manual but would like some info on what usually occurs on an older ski of this model when this happens. I shut it down pretty quick so i dont think there is engine damage, mostly driveline. Just the impellar and housing look to cost 500$ alone. That blows because i only paid 250$ for the ski. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Mate! your ski is ancient and not worth spending much money on. But if you really want to, it will be drive shafts if it made a grinding noise when it slowed up. Or it could be drive coupler. Something in the drive line. Its a pretty easy job pulling apart on those old things if all the bolts arent seized. If its drive shafts, it will probably be the short shaft in the engine bay thats stripped due to the pump housing bearings failing and washing the grease from the spline. Or it could be because an engine mount has failed.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no grinding