Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm pretty new to PWC's but I'm looking at buying one soon. I don't really know a lot about them so I need help deciding what kind to look for. Here's what I'm hoping to get:

- Something under $5000 with trailer
- PWC's with 3 or 4 seats are preferable, but 2 seats would be alright. The number of seats isn't a big deal breaker but it would be nice.
- As much horsepower as possible within the price constraint.
- Fairly reliable. I am a fairly adept self-taught mechanic when it comes to my car so I know how to take care of things/make minor repairs but I would like something that doesn't need tons of upkeep.
- I have no preference when it comes to 2-stroke vs 4-stroke.
- The Big One: I like wakeboarding but we've recently moved and since I am in college when I come home for the summer I don't know anybody. Where I used to live I got to go out on friends boats all the time but now this isn't possible. I obviously don't have any money and my parents have shot down the idea of getting a boat, but they seem pretty willing to get a PWC. I would like to get one to wakeboard off of, along with all the other fun things that go along with PWC's.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I would follow BamaDave's advice, and look for a 4 stroke Yamaha (or maybe even a Kawasaki, but they don't appear on the used market in the same volume). You SHOULD be able to get a couple year old Yamaha in your price range. Heck, I have seen some demo PWC lately that were close to your price range (and those are legally new, though they have hours on them).

The Yamaha should be nice and reliable, and the 4 strokes *generally* sip the gas rather than guzzle it, but that is very subject to how you ride it.

As for pulling a wake board, it depends on the weight of all folks involved, but MOST multi-seat PWC should be up to the task.