Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recall being advised not to use these in PWC's. Any particular reason? I have an 02 xlt 1200 that is having acceleration issues, and wont go over 35. Carbs were cleaned last year...wondering if I should try these or replace the fuel filter? Any advice? BTW, since the carbs were cleanded last year have about 5 hours on it. Ran great last year, not this year.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
after reading many posts, im starting to think its an oil issue. oil gauge says 2/3 full, but looks like very little in tank. sounds like a common issue on these models. was vrunning very smokey today, plus after warmed up lost power big time...could only do like 5mph back to the dock

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
speedfreak....i'm a noob. i dont even know how to check the compression. what do i need?

extremely frustrated...i spend more time trying to figure whats wrong with the than riding it.

also i noticed a little bit of water in the bildge....never had that before

·
Registered
21 Posts
Carbs and fuel filters are finicky beasts. A clean carb can get gummed up in short order if gas is allowed to sit in it. Changing the fuel filter is an easy and cheap attempt at a fix. You might luck out and have a clogged filter restricting fuel flow.

Spray cleaners down the carb generally can only hit the orifices in the carb throat. Once in a while they have worked for me. Usually on 3 and 4 hp mower engines. I did have a motor recently where the gas had evaporated in the carb of a 2-stroke outboard to leave a heavy coating of oil in the carbs causing a rough running engine. Spray cleaner did help that motor.