Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first jet ski so I am a complete noob on these things. I plan on taking it out for the first time tomorrow. In the manual it says to launch watercraft and for the first 5 min of break-in to operate engine at idle speed. I would like to check the oil before i take it out to make sure the techs got enough in there. Would it be ok to do the 5 min idle break in on the hose so I can check the oil. I will do the 30 min of below 5000 rpm's and 1 hr of below 6500 rpm's on the lake.
I also noticed when i took the seat off today, there is a black hose that hooks up underneath the seat in the rear that says 'vent' on it, however the other end is not hook to anything. What does this end go to?
I'm probably going to pay to have it winterized this year because i dont know that much about it yet but would like to do it myself in the future. I read bulldogs101 tips for winterizing (lots of good info), where do you guys buy the yamaha engine fogging oil, the silicone lubricant to spray on the engine, oil and filter? is dealer the only choice? 1 last question..where do I get the pump to pump the oil out of the engine?
Sorry for all the questions and thanks for your help.

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
You can check the oil on the hose, but you may need to run it a little longer than 5 min. to get an accurate reading. Remember to start the engine before the water, and turn off the water before you turn off the engine on the hose.

You can get stuff from here: Parker Yamaha.Com and Parker Sports Center Home I use K&N oil filters and get them and the spark plugs off Amazon. You can find a cheap oil extractor at Walmart, or many auto parts stores.

The maintenance is pretty easy to do yourself. Don't be surprised to see a $200 bill from the dealer.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3