Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the PWC arena. I have had a boat and currently have a motorcycle, I kindof consider this a cross between the two. I am looking on Craigs List and have a couple that I am looking at. I have also found a mechanic that is willing to go along with me to check them out for a small fee. The first one I am looking at is an 01 Seadoo GTX DI with the 951 cc motor, there are 2 available, one has 49 hours and one has 100 hours, but the mechanic tells me to never believe the hour meters. I can get one for $3600 with a single trailer or the other is $3900 with a single trailer. Does this sound resonable? Are these good PWCs? Thanks for all of your advice and opinions. :D

·
Premium Member
354 Posts
Stay away from Sea Doo! I actually call them Sea Don'ts because they have the worse reliability. Ipersonally will only every buy a Yamaha or Kawasaki. They have been around the longest, have the best technology and the best reliability.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I was looking to get a Yamaha, but i'm not clear on which model to get. At first I was looking at the FZS, but it's too expensive even getting it $200 above dealer cost. I was wondering how much of a loss would I have by downgrading to the FX-HO?

Jumping waves, quick short bursts, recreational use is what i'm looking for. Do you think the FX-HO will suffice for what I want?

·
Premium Member
354 Posts
My guess is that it will. Heck, I come from a time when a 650 was a big thing and then when the 750's came out you were in amazement. In all honesty, I have not ridden a 4 stroke so I do not know how they are on torque compared to my 2 jet ski's that I have but I do know that the model that you are considering would probably at least be good at wave jumping and recreational use as most jet ski's are.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5