Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone!

Well i have an opportunity to purchase and XL800 from a friend of mine. It has problem though... He says that one of the cylinders has very low compression, the numbers he gave where somewhere around 145 for one and 45 for the other.

It did start and idle a bit rough, with clouds of thick white smoke coming out of the exhaust. We did start it on the trailer without the garden house, just so i could see that it does in fact start and idle. We only ran it for about 15 - 20 seconds no revs.

He is willing to let me have for under one grand, which to me sounds like a decent deal. I am a decent mechanic and have rebuild my Jeep's straight 6 so tearing apart the wave runner's engine doesn't really scare me.

Wondering if anyone can help me shed some light on what the possible cause is and general idea of cost for parts. I am assuming that the piston rings are gone on the bad cylinder but i have no idea on the white smoke.

What do you guys think?
Thanks in advance for any help and info!
James

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
Most common cause would be an oil line coming loose and resulting in a fried piston/cylinder. I'm pretty sure the XL800 has the power valve system, and that is another possible point of failure that would ruin a piston/cylinder, since on the original design it was possible for a power valve to drop into a cylinder and cause damage. In either case you would want to fix the power valves with clips if that hasn't already been done while you have things apart. Another consideration would be to convert the engine to run on pre-mix and eliminate the oil injector system, which is a common failure point. There are other possible causes for a piston/cylinder failure (lean run from bad carb., etc.). You really won't know until you get it apart.