Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm new to this forum, and new to jet skis. I just picked up a pair of 89 Kawisaki skis for a song - I got a running 1989 X-2 and a running 1989 650SX. I rode the x-2 for about 10 minutes, and I have not rode the 650sx. I have a long list of questions, but I want to make sure everything is all set before I put them in the lake next weekend. If you can answer any one of these questions with any authority, I would be very thankful.

1. Both have the bilge ports siliconed over, and the X-2 has a non-automatic 500gph Rule Pump. From browsing the forum, I gather that I should probably get a bilge in both. Do I need an automatic? I'm a beginner, so there wont be any submarining this year. Do I just leave the bilge running the while time I'm skiing, or do I only turn it on to drain the ski when I'm finished? I dont want my ski sinking.

2. If the ski sinks, does it go to the bottom of the lake, or does it stay near the surface?

3. There is a little bowl in the front of both skis - I guess its a fuel/water separator. One ski has fuel on the top, and something else below the fuel... probably water. The other ski's bowl is completely empty. There is a like that terminates somewhere under the handlebars. What is the handlebar fuel line supposed to do? Why is one of the bowls empty? Maybe has the ski been modified?

4. The x2 has a cap with a gauge for the engine oil next to the gas line. Underneath there is just a float on a metal line, apparently where the oil tank was removed. I've never worked on an oil injection 2 cycle before - is there anything I should check to make sure the tank removal was done properly? What is a block-off plate, what does it look like, and where does it go?