Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the PWC thing. I have a 2008 VX1100 with 178 hrs. Purchased used. Unit has been running fine since I purchased it. I flush the motor after every use for 10 mins with a garden hose. I have a couple of questions:

1. Is my flushing method good? (I start the engine first then turn on the water. Then I turn off the water and stop the engine)

2. This week I took it out for a run and about 25 min into the run my kids told me it was smoking..I pulled up near shore and shut the motor off. I starting checking around and did not see anything strange. I then remembered that I topped up the oil level the day before. So looked inside the oil tank and notice that the level was very high. Higher than when I filled it, I pulled out some of the oil until it got down to the correct level. Started it up and let it idle for a bit. It smoked but I notice that the white smoke was getting less. So I loaded up the kids and headed back to main land. It smoked for about 5 min and then stopped. I got back to dock let them off and took it back out. No more smoke. It also never gave any overheating warnings or anything. It ran fine for another hour without smoking or any other trouble.

So should I be worried that I may have done something really stupid?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the PWC thing. I have a 2008 VX1100 with 178 hrs. Purchased used. Unit has been running fine since I purchased it. I flush the motor after every use for 10 mins with a garden hose. I have a couple of questions:

1. Is my flushing method good? (I start the engine first then turn on the water. Then I turn off the water and stop the engine)