Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to Jet Skis and was given a JS550 basket case. Everything is there but none of it is together. The engine block was compleate but the ports were open and it was obvious that a bunch of crap got in there. Since a new gasket kit was laying in the hull I set on taking the engine apart.
I have removed the head, jugs, pistons, flywheel, and cracked the case. Now to change the crank seals, it looks like i will have to remove the drive coupler. Are there any tricks to getting it off and more importantly on?
Also it would be great to get some torque specs for the case bolts and head stud nuts. Also the Flywheel nut torque.

Next
The cylinder head has some pretty bad pitting on the inside from salt water eating it. I think it would be ok but I found another head in the hull that looks brand new. The chambers seem to be shaped differently so i wasnt going to use it but it made me notice something. It seems the heads only had one water fitting on them but mine has another that has been hand tapped into the other side of the head so that there are two. Is this a commen mod?

Ant help would be great since i am excited to get this thing together and on the water.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I figured out the drive coupler just threads off. Tore down the engine the rest of the way. Sonic dipped it all and reassembled it. All I really need at the moment is torque specs since i just snuged it all together.
How does duel cooling work?
I know i should get a manual but things are tight and i dont feel like spending $30 on a manual if i can just get the engine specs from here.

·
Registered
111 Posts
the head is set up fpr dual cooling

i would buy a shop manual
That was barely helpful.