Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a combat veteran and a retired bus technician. I had 6 waverunners in 9 years and never worked on them before, but after a mechanic wanted to charge me 6 hours to "properly" replace the starter bendix on my xl1200 I decide to work on my own jet skis. He said that he has to remove the engine. He insulted my intelligence. So I replaced the bendix. Took me 45 minutes to move aside the hood assy and lien forward the fuel tank to accomodate my impact gun to loose the flywheel and about the same time to install everything back together. The only problem was that I could not find anything on my tool box to hold the flywheel. After tighning with a breaker bar in one hand and holding the flywheel with the other hand, I marked the bolt. I had to set up the pressure on the impact gun with a trailer bolt to achieve the 52 ft pounds the manual calls for. Double check with the torque wrench and it was about 55 ft pounds. So I went and hit two quick burst on that main bolt. It moved but I do'nt know if I attain the right torque. I did'nt want to hold the impact gun any longer because I know I was going to break the bolt. Water test the ski and runs great.

Is there any tool to hold the flywheel while the engine in place?
What are the possibilities of the flywheel get loose? I am thinking the first part it will damage will be the oil pump
Should I go pre-mix with this 1998 xl 1200 and my other xlt800?
All the oil lines looks fine on both skis but I don't like the zip-ties on the 1998 xl 1200.