Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I do not know if anyone has posted anything like this. If so then I apologize up front. If you are inclined to attempt a simple repair on an EMM here are some photos of the internals and major components.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an engineer. If you know about other areas of these electronics then please post your knowledge so we can all benefit. I will continue to post as I learn new pieces of this puzzle. I do not recommend anyone attempting repairs without basic electrical and soldering skills. 90% of the components on these boards are surface mounted and require special soldering equipment to remove and replace components. Proceed at your own risk.

These boards are totally encapsulated in potting material similar to ballistics gel. It is a nightmare to get the boards free without damaging anything. The boards are sandwiched in the EMM housing. You have to be patient removing the boards. It took hours to get to the point where I could take these photos. As you can see from my photos there is still a great deal of material still stuck on the boards. Be patient and go SLOW!

If someone wishes to add comments or technical advice to this thread then by all means jump in. I am still tracing out the rest of the circuits to further understand what each component is for.

I just came to understand that the two boards are autonomous. They rely on each other but are not aware of each other. I don't know why I did not realize that sooner.

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
Is there something specific your trying to repair or just educating yourself? I understand these are very expensive to replace with new and was told there is only one place in CA that will attempt to repair them.