Personal Water Craft Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I have a 2001 Yamaha XLT1200 that has a knocking noise at idle. It seems to get better(Quieter) with RPM and is also smoking pretty good. I am new to 2-stroke engines so im not sure what is normal but it shakes pretty bad at idle and knocks with a metallic sound.

Videos are attached of it running and pictures of what I found.

Could it be bad gas from storage (I added Stabil marine before winterizing)? Something worse?

This is what I checked so far. No results

Compression is 110-100-110 front to back.
Pulled powervalve cover on the middle cylinder – pictures attached.
Power valves are actuating together
Changed spark plugs – no change in mentioned sound
Checked spark – have spark in each cylinder
No lack in power(That i know of)or bogging

Any ideas?
[VIDEO]

[VIDEO]

[VIDEO]

Also, what is that wire coming off of the exhaust? its not plugged into anything....Looks like exhaust temp?

Please help....

Attachments

·
Registered
1,480 Posts
Based on your pics, compression is good at 115, 110, 115. Slight gap, but still inside 10% rule.

How many hrs on ski?

In the 3rd video from under ski. The rattle is from your pump. It's the impeller ringing. It may be the blade hitting the wear ring. Has the original wear ring been replaced with a plastic replaceable?

The wire is as suspected, the temp sensor. If the cat has been replaced by a D-plate then it is disconnected on purpose. And a chip is plugged into the other end to fool the computer that it's gone.